top of page

A Taste of Pici’s Handmade Pasta

Updated: May 11, 2019

“Life is a combination of magic and pasta,” said Federico Fellini.


Recently, I finally got the chance to visit Pici, a popular Italian Pasta bar that I have been wanting to visit since the start of the year.

That night, I arrived at the restaurant at 6:50 pm, but the pasta bar was already packed with “foodies” and we were asked to queue up and wait for a while. Waiting outside of the restaurant, I could already smell the tantalizing odor of the ambrosial pasta wafting from the kitchen.

About 15 minutes later, we were seated and the waitresses briefly introduced to us to their selections of handmade pasta in Pici, and that all the pasta and sauce were made from scratch.

I ordered a tasting menu with 2 starters, 3 mains, and 2 desserts, thus I got to have a taste of 7 kinds of food. The signature of Burrata Cheese was super creamy, and the accompanying rocket greens were fresh and delicious as well.



For the main dishes, my favourite pasta was definitely Taglioni, for who can resist the scent of white truffles? Generous amount of truffles were shaved onto the thin Al Dente noodles that were cooked with truffle sauce (just thinking about it makes me drool). My second favourite pasta would have to be the Pappardelle. The slow-cooked beef cheeks were super soft and tender, but he Carbonara Ravioli was not bad either. The runny egg yolk oozed out along with cheese as I sliced it apart. However, the sauce and the egg yolk were too salty. As for dessert, I was served Tiramisu and Raspberry Panna cotta. The Tiramisu was very impressive as well, it wasn’t as filling as I thought they would be even though I was very full from the main dishes but I managed to finish them. Overall, it was a pleasant dinner. Lots of carbs for sure, but all the dishes were outstanding, and I will definitely return for their Tagliolini and Tiramisu.


Honestly one of the best tiramisu I've had in Hong Kong
Tiramisu & Panna Cotta

About the restaurant:

Pici

Address: G/F, 16 St. Francis Yard, Wan Chai

Price: $250-300p.p. (no service charge)

Opening hours: 12:00-22:30

Website:



121 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page